Winter 2006 Forward to a Friend

Subaru News

Subaru Responds to Hurricane Katrina

Subaru Legacy Earns “Double Best Pick” Rating

Subaru B9 Tribeca Earns Five-Star Safety Rating

New Subaru Certified Pre-Owned Vehicle Program Announced

Subaru Motorsports Wraps Up Impressive Year

Subaru Baja Named Top Compact Pickup in Value Study

Subaru Debuts

Subaru Official Automotive Sponsor of the 2005 International Latino Film Festival

Subaru drivers enjoyed great success in motorsports across America in 2005, from the grassroots to the national level. Subaru of America sponsored vehicles in three major series, and the sponsored teams often led the way to the checkered flag. We congratulate the Subaru Motorsports teams and other Subaru teams on jobs well done throughout the year.

Julie Stepan Sets Records and Wins Four NHRA “Wally” Trophies in the Subaru SPT/ESX/STI

Julie Stepan drove the Subaru/SPT/ESX Team Subaru ESX/STI to four wins in the National Hot Rod Association Street Class during 2005. She set her fastest time at the Pomona, California, event in October. Her final run was in 9.21 seconds at 150.0 miles per hour.

The team has unveiled Julie’s car for next year – the 2006 Subaru ESX/STI painted pink and white in support of the Susan G. Komen Breast Cancer Foundation.

Subaru Secures First-Ever SCCA Runoffs® Title

Subaru took its first road-racing title at the 42nd annual Sports Car Club of America (SCCA) National Championship Runoffs held on September 24, 2005, at Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course in Lexington, Ohio. Team Subaru and its Impreza WRX STIs managed by ICY Racing/Phoenix Performance of Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, finished first and second at the finale. They triumphed over a field of more than 50 entries from around the United States, all of whom had earned the right to compete in this annual, season-ending event.

Winning driver Chuck Hemmingson of West Des Moines, Iowa, led teammate Kristian Skavnes of Sparta, New Jersey, across the finish line to cap off the history-making weekend. The team was led by David Rosenblum, who drove his WRX STI to sixth.


Subaru Dominates the Rally America Championship

The Vermont SportsCar Subaru Rally Team drivers/co-drivers Travis Pastrana/Christian Edstrom (#199) and Ken Block/Alex Gelsomino (#43) fared very well in the Group N Class of the Rally America Championship. These two young teams finished third and fourth in that division behind two very experienced teams – Patrick Richard/Nathalie Richard and Stig Blomqvist/Ana Goni, both of which also piloted Subaru Imprezas.

In fact, of the 11 cars in the first 10 spots (two were tied for 10th), nine wore the Subaru badge:

1 Patrick Richard Group N
2 Stig Blomqvist Group N
3 Matthew lorio Open
4 Ken Block Group N
5 Travis Pastrana Group N
6 Tanner Foust Production GT
8 Matthew Johnson Production GT
10 Mark McElduff Group N
10 Otis Dimiters Group N